Deadman Wonderland

2015/01/img_1037.jpg
Summary: Ganta, a weak looking middle schooler, was judged guilty by the court for the murder of thirty-one classmates and is given the death sentence. In his city, there is an amusement park that all criminals are sent to live, maintain, and entertain guests at; Deadman Wonderland. Now Ganta is thrown into a world of backstabbing, criminals, corrupt leaders, and a dark secret.

12 Episodes
1 OVA

2015/01/img_1038.jpg
I rate this a 5.5/10

I wasn’t sure if I could get into this anime because of the way the main character looks but I gave it a shot. The beginning was confusing and I wasn’t sure if it was real or not. Yet, I trudged on. Soon enough, I couldn’t stop watching. Yes, Ganta is a middle schooler and therefore a bit of a “crybaby” but a little into the series he starts to change for the better. I would recommend this series to people that enjoy leaders acting like puppet masters, supernatural powers, and pointless killing. Yes, there are fights and I think the fights are entertaining to watch but there are also moments with senseless killing.

BIG SPOILER ALERT
I watched all episodes and the OVA and am left with an “open” ending. But which anime doesn’t do that these days? The story progresses at a good pace. Not too much information but does show some depth to characters. Some times there’s a little too much hidden stuff but I could live with it. Although it is hard to tell if the characters are good or not. This anime is based off of a manga and so the ending of the series is incomplete. I think they tried to rush the ending to make the action-packed scenes happen but it felt a little rushed in the plot. They slowed down the action parts so that I was entertained the whole time but they threw in the plot twist pretty randomly. The ending ties together the action scene and has a happy ending but there are so many questions left. You can definitely tell there is more to the story.
The OVA is a side story of Crow. I won’t go into detail but it doesn’t have anything to do with the main story.

Leave a comment